European Lisp Symposium

- 2020, Zürich
Registration is now open! Early bird deadline: April 1st.
Paper sumbission deadline extended


This year's focus will be directed towards "Compilers".

We especially invite submissions in the following areas:

  • Compiler techniques
  • Compiler passes
  • Compiler compilers
  • Showcasing of industrial or experimental compilers
  • Code generation
  • Compiler verification
  • Compiler optimizations
  • JIT compilers

Contributions are also welcome in other areas, including but not limited to:

  • Context-, aspect-, domain-oriented and generative programming
  • Macro-, reflective-, meta- and/or rule-based development approaches
  • Language design and implementation
  • Language integration, inter-operation and deployment
  • Development methodologies, support and environments
  • Educational approaches and perspectives
  • Experience reports and case studies

We invite submissions in the following forms:

  • Papers: Technical papers of up to 8 pages that describe original results or explain known ideas in new and elegant ways.
  • Demonstrations: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for demonstrations of tools, libraries, and applications.
  • Tutorials: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for in-depth presentations about topics of special interest for at least 90 minutes and up to 180 minutes.

You can upload submissions on EasyChair.

All submissions should be formatted following the ACM SIGS guidelines and include ACM Computing Classification System 2012 concepts and terms. Appropriate TeX and Word templates can be found on the ACM publications page.

LaTeX submissions are encouraged. For LaTeX submissions, please use the SIGCONF style (two columns, reasonably compact). This is done like this: \usepackage[format=sigconf]{acmart}.

Please use the ACM Computing Classification System site to generate the CCS codes. In order to add a concept, navigate to it using the boxes, and select "Assign This CCS Concept" on the left side. You should select one high relevance concept, and up to four medium or low relevance concepts. Once you are done, simply copy the CCS display into the Word document. If you are using TeX, select "View CCS TeX Code" and copy the displayed code into your TeX file. The templates should already include sections with bogus CCS codes, which you can simply replace with your own.

If you are using the correct style and classification system, your document will contain a section called CCS Concepts and include terms formatted like •Information systems → Web applications. If your document includes a section titled Categories and Subject Descriptors with things in a style like D.2.3 [Software Engineering]: Coding Tools and Techniques, then you have to update to the new 2012 system and templates as linked above. If the CCS section does not show up in the TeX generated PDF at all, make sure that your TeX file includes the \printccsdesc command below the abstract.



Full conference package (talks, coffee breaks, banquet).
Same as "Early regular", student price (requires student ID copy via e-mail).


Payment 0

All credit card payments are handled through Stripe. None of your card details arrive on our server.

Please only choose bank transfer payment if the credit card option is unavailable to you. Manual bank transfers incur additional work for us. We will send the details of the payment account in an email to you, though processing might take a few days.

Invited Speakers

  • Andy Keep (Cisco Systems, Inc.), on the Nanopass Framework.
  • Daniel Kochmański (Turtleware), on the Embeddable Common Lisp (ECL).


photo GZ Riesbach +41 44 387 74 50 (CONFERENCE) Seefeldstrasse 93 8008 Zürich Switzerland


Programme Chair

  • photo Ioanna Dimitriou Ioanna M. Dimitriou Igalia (PROGRAMME-CHAIR) Bonn Germany

Local Chair


  • photo Andy Wingo Andy Wingo Igalia (COMMITTEE) France
  • photo Asumu Takikawa Asumu Takikawa Igalia (COMMITTEE) USA
  • photo Charlotte Herzeel Charlotte Herzeel Imec, ExasSience Lab (COMMITTEE) Belgium
  • photo Christophe Rhodes Christophe Rhodes Google (COMMITTEE) UK
  • photo Irène Durand Irène Durand Université de Bordeaux (COMMITTEE) France
  • photo Jim Newton Jim Newton EPITA Research Lab (COMMITTEE) France
  • photo Kent Pitman Kent Pitman HyperMeta (COMMITTEE) USA
  • photo Leonie Dreschler-Fischer Leonie Dreschler-Fischer University of Hamburg (COMMITTEE) Germany
  • photo Marco Heisig Marco Heisig FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg (COMMITTEE) Germany
  • photo Mark Evenson Mark Evenson (COMMITTEE) Austria
  • photo Max Rottenkolber Max Rottenkolber Interstellar Ventures (COMMITTEE) Germany
  • photo Metin Evrim Ulu Metin Evrim Ulu Middle East Technical University (COMMITTEE) Turkey
  • photo Paulo Matos Paulo Matos Igalia (COMMITTEE) Germany
  • photo Robert Goldman Robert Goldman SIFT (COMMITTEE) USA
  • photo Robert Strandh Robert Strandh Université de Bordeaux (COMMITTEE) France
  • photo Sky Hester Sky Hester consultant (COMMITTEE) USA

Please wait...